Advices to parents

  1.  Please label with indelible ink or iron-on labels sports items, bags, coats, hats, scarves, gloves, jumpers and jackets ; everything that a child will take off during their lunchtime breaks. Labels can become illegible after a number of washes, thus making the impossible to be returned.
  2. Please label the items in an easily found place – collar, belt, inside pocket etc…
  3. Please ask your child to look for these items in THEIR classrooms (the children change classrooms often, even in primary), in the canteen, in the swimming pool, and especially ask them to ask their bus drivers (including those who drive on Fridays) who keep these items in their bus (they do not only work for our school).
  4. Tell your children to look after their belongings, especially in Secondary School. The lockers can be also used for this. An unsupervised sports bag can quickly become a “lost” sports bag.
  5. Encourage your children to come to the Eureka building often, if they have not found their belonging on their first visit it may be because the items have not yet been sorted or found by the Eureka volunteers. The school has many has mysterious and hidden spots !
  6. If your child is a little apprehensive asking for help from the volunteers, don’t hesitate to write a note (English or French), describing the lost item, and ask your child to give this to the Eureka volunteers, who will do their best to help your child.

Quelques conseils

  1. Marquez avec de l’encre spéciale textile ou des “nominettes” les affaires de sport, sacs, manteaux, bonnets, écharpes, gants, pulls et gilets, tout ce que que les enfants enlèvent dès qu’ils courent un peu pendant la récré. Un marquage en partie effacé par les lavages successifs, ou avec de l’encre ayant bavé, s’il est illisible, ne permet pas à l'objet d’être répertorié.

  2. Marquez les habits à un endroit prévu à cet effet et accessible : col, étiquette, ceinture, poche intérieure.

  3. Demandez à votre enfant de chercher d’abord dans SES classes ( il peut y en avoir beaucoup même en primaire), à la cantine, à la piscine,  et surtout à ses chauffeurs de bus ( y compris celui du vendredi) qui gardent les objets trouvés dans leur bus ( ils ne travaillent pas que pour notre école...).

  4. Eduquez vos enfants à ne pas laisser trainer leur sac de sport  notamment au secondaire : les casiers sont faits aussi pour cela. Un sac de sport laissé sans surveillance est un sac de sport “perdu”.

  5. Incitez vos enfants à venir régulièrement à Eurêka, s’ils n’ont pas trouvé lors de leur première visite : cela peut mettre du temps à arriver au local malgré tous les efforts des bénévoles, il faut passer  et repasser au local. L’école réserve encore des endroits cachés et des mystères.

  6. Si votre enfant appréhende  de s’exprimer pour demander l’aide des bénévoles, vous pouvez toujours écrire un mot avec le nom et le prénom de l’enfant, le descriptif des objets perdus, en français ou en anglais, et le lui donner pour qu’il le montre aux bénévoles.